top of page

On Guard: An Introduction to Carroll Fencing

"While fencing is a martial art, it can also be considered physical chess." My coach summarized fencing using this one sentence, and it stands as the best description of fencing I have ever heard. Indeed, fencing is a martial art as two opponents duel with weapons. But it can also be considered physical chess, because, just like the board game, strategy is equally if not more important than speed or strength. High-level fencers will anticipate their opponents' next steps and respond accordingly, as chess players guess their opponents' thoughts and plan ahead. Modern fencing, also known as Olympic fencing, is a sport rich in history. Based on violent accounts of sword fighting from the Middle Ages, fencing seems to have developed into a “safe” sport by around the 1600s. And yes, Modern fencing is safe! Dull weapons and protective outfits guarantee fencers' security, and thus there are hardly any injuries in bouts.*

There are three forms of fencing: Foil, Épée, and Sabre. Although all are categorized as fencing, these three forms are relatively different, and each has its own unique characteristics. Foil was developed with the intention of allowing aristocrats to practice their sword skills without actually killing each other. In Foil, the target is strictly the torso, or the upper body not including arms and hands. Fencers often learn the sports’ basic principles using Foil as it is the least complicated. Scores in Foil can only be earned with touches of the tips- no slashing* is allowed. The "no-slashing" rule also applies to Épée, the second kind of fencing. Compared to Foil, Épée is much more exciting, as the target area is the whole body and no rules apply. Having no rules makes Épée extremely captivating to watch, and for this reason it is the most popular form. The characteristics of Épée also make it the most similar to sword fighting in the Middle Ages. The third and last form, Sabre, also originated from medieval sword fighting. Sabre originally utilized the swords that officers or generals wore. It uses the same rules as Foil, except the target area is larger, and includes arms and hands. In general, Sabre is much faster than Foil, as each round ends after only several seconds. Fencers can slash in Sabre, making it extra fun to watch and to play.

Deciding to fence has been one of the best choices of my life. Before I discovered my love for fencing, I was struggling to find a sport I really enjoyed. Basketball? No, I am not strong or tall enough. Soccer? Nah, I can't run that fast. How about football then? Well, I don't wanna break my arm. I always respected and envied these student athletes, who to me seemed like “the coolest kids in school.” They fought for their school pride through the sports they enjoyed. Then, fortunately, I came to Carroll and found the fencing team. I still remember the way it began: my friend Oliver persuaded me day after day to talk to the fencing coach with him at lunch. I finally agreed and met a smart man (my new coach!) who succeeded in encouraging and inspiring me to join the team. After he told me his own story and shared his passion for the sport, I was fully convinced of my decision and more excited than ever. So I made up my mind: Yes, fencing is the sport that I have been waiting for! Throughout the course of the season, I learned many lessons from my coach and teammates, like the importance of team spirit, never giving up, and how having fun is more important than winning. Fencing at Carroll has become one of my most precious memories from high school. It has made my life more colorful and interesting.

Fencing is a fairly new sport to Carroll as this is only its second year. This season, we only had two formal teams: the Varsity Épée team and the Varsity Foil team. Even though it is a young program, we have acquired useful practice equipment and a positive practice environment. We trained in the dance room which has mirrors on its walls, so we could see ourselves and correct our mistakes regarding positions and movements. We also used two sets of electronic equipment to practice in video game situations. Practices were three times a week for two hours on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Thanks to our equipment and the hard work our team put in, at the very first fencing game hosted at Carroll against the Hill School, our entire team was victorious!

Carroll Fencing may be new, but with more and more fencers joining us, it can only get better and better. Let's go Patriots!

For more information about Carroll Fencing and our win against the Hill School, click here.

-Fencing Dictionary-

*Bout: a match between two fencers

*Slash: to use a sweeping movement with a sword

-Mandarin Chinese Version-

剑自古以来不仅仅是兵器,同时还是文学与感情抒发的对象,自有安得倚天剑,跨海斩

长鲸。无论是亚瑟王拔剑称王,还是斩蛇当道,英雄天子汉刘邦,我从小就喜欢舞

弄刀枪剑戟,斧钺钩叉,可惜中国的剑道却演变到只是健身于观赏,看不到曾经的

刀风剑雨,后来到了美国我就接触了击剑(西洋剑),一种贵族的绅士运动,虽然与

武侠小说的略有偏差,但是性质却是不谋而合,简单一句话,碰中他就行,击剑分

为三种,花剑,佩剑,重剑,三种剑打法和规则各不一样,

花剑(foil):做为所有剑的基础,是所有击剑项目里最耐看,最潇洒,之所以是

花剑,是因为剑花朵朵开,动作潇洒流利,圆月甩背,是初学者最先接触的武器,

只能刺,不能劈打。当运动员刺出的力量大于500克时,剑头的开关就接通,裁判器上会

显示信号。击中有效部位躯干(也就是运动员的金属背心)时裁判器才会显示红或绿色灯,

击中无效部位,则显示白灯。每刺中一剑有效部位可得一分。如果运动员相互击中有效部

位时,裁判员则判主动进攻的运动员胜一剑。

重剑(epee):最简单易懂的剑种,剑出如龙,金庸老先生说过: 重剑无锋,大巧不工,

打的是一种意境,一种情怀,说白了就是就是一个字 骗,看你能不能骗到你的对手,如何

让他一步步掉进你的圈套, 我打的就是这个剑种,同时得分,全身有效,打法多变,是在

奥林匹克中最方便看懂的项目,也是最原汁原味的击剑,当时重剑只是乡下村民们想从贵

族王室那里学习花剑,但是村民们觉得太过于花哨何不实用,就改成了重剑。

佩剑(sabre):佩剑是既劈又刺的武器。在比赛中,以劈中得分为多。击中有效部位是上身

、面罩及手臂。有效部位由金属衣裹覆。这样,电子仪器便可以分出有效和无效击中。佩

剑比赛也讲究击中优先权。先攻击而击中者得分。被攻击者须先做出有效防御动作后再进

攻击中才有效。双方同时击中均不得分。佩剑速度最快,用的时间往往也最短。是击剑项

目里最蛮横无理的剑种,看似得分轻轻松松,但是招数千变万化,后招无穷。豪迈之极,

好似刚饮完酒的鲁智深,每一挥,每一劈,都是蕴含了情感,

Photos from the season!

bottom of page