top of page

The Temptation

The Temptation: scene adapted from François-André Vincent’s painting, Arria and Paetus, 1784

(PAETUS is sitting down in an old, wooden chair. His wife ARRIA walks in with her one hand hidden behind her back inconspicuously. The stage lights are dimmed on the two.)

ARRIA: You know, the town has been very chaotic today. I've been hearing things...rumors--rumors dealing with you, Paetus. You have a voice, you have a mind and a heart with it. You have knowledge and wisdom, bravery and courage, home and love, you have me. But, you have a risky side...a stubborn side, you must always be right! So then, does that mean those rumors...could possibly not be rumors at all? Ah! So then they're the truth! It's always about the truth, being faithful, honest, right? (PAETUS looks away from ARRIA.) Paetus, what have you done?! Why would you meddle? Why would you part the ocean that just wants to breathe? Why would you rebel and draw that thick line in the sand, wishing your life away as a shadow and misty memory, extinguishing all candles that guide you through those dark, windy paths at night? You have extinguished my light. You have extinguished your love for me, as I can plainly observe. You glanced at that forbidden tree and ripped the fruit right off the vine, bit into the savory juices as it dripped down your chin, and you watched in awe as your life began to crush to rubble. There is no return, no turning back for your actions now. Paetus, Claudius wants you dead because of the revolt you've taken part in. You must accept the roar of the lion and bow to the gods. Be struck by the lightning and burn in flames of purple and blue, and be engulfed by the overlapping thunder. (ARRIA pulls out her hidden hand, revealing a dagger. PAETUS’s face reveals shock. ARRIA continues with a more convincing tone.) Well, because...uh...the clouds will scoop you high into the heavens, where the angels will dance and give you wine. Golden gates with luxurious details revealing true art and happiness. You are wanted there...needed there! Now you need to take this dagger and bleed in order to claim this new land as your own. It will only take a few seconds, a light pinch and snap! You will fly towards the sky before you know it. (PAETUS shakes his head.) B-but Paetus, you must! It will not hurt, for the blade is sharp and thin. It will be as if a needle pricks you. Please, please! You need to! (getting louder) It's just a simple cut. (lifts the dagger and faces it towards her) Close your eyes...count--unus, duo, tres... (She stabs herself. PAETUS looks away in horror. ARRIA gasps slightly and shakes as she slowly takes out the dagger from her abdomen.) Ah...you see? I will survive from this, but I will experience the pain. You, however, will not feel pain. I promise you...and...and...that is the truth. (She wipes off the dagger and hands toward PAETUS.)

(Stage lights dim, spotlight on PAETUS)

PAETUS [aside]: What shall I do? Do I capitulate and force this spear through my body, breaking my nerves and allowing the Fates to snip my string of vitality? Do I reveal vulnerability and weakness, close my eyes, and count unus, duo, tres? Or shall I continue falling into this abyss of treachery and treason, disobeying my country, putting Arria in danger? She is correct, I loathe being proven wrong, but is it worth the risk to stay alive a moment longer with the possibility that her life could be sacrificed with mine? I have visions--dreams--of the serpent, it's scarlet eyes reflecting echoes of hisses and screeches. I tense as it's slender yet strong body coils me and squeezes the innocence from my lungs, extracting my obedience, and melting my mouth so I may never whisper an opinion again. But then again, what does she mean by extinguished love? Is she seeking revenge for an event I had no control over? Is she the tree from which the serpent swings, silently impeding my freedom and leading danger towards me using my disastrous scent? Could she be the stomping foot sending earthquakes and the clapping hand calling storms to wreck me from above and below so I suffocate in absolute peril? But, I believe she loves me, and I believe I love her. I guess...just maybe… (PAETUS reaches toward the dagger.)

(Spotlight moves to ARRIA)

ARRIA [aside]: Ha! How can a fool take such belief in what I say? I admit, it is the truth that Claudius wants Paetus dead, but my reasoning for death is far more devious. (begins to sob) How I wish to see my beloved boy once more, ambling through rows of sunflower gardens, basking in the soft light with his golden hair glistening. I wish to provide him laughter and smiles that serve as keys to open any and all chains of overbearing sorrow. I wish to catch him as he falls and hold him tightly so his tears may be absorbed into my breast and give comfort. Now that he is gone, it is as if an eclipse flies overtop of me and freezes in time for an eternal slumber. (She looks at Paetus.) And who is here to present me with the same comfort I gave my child? Who has caught me when I have fallen into darkness? Who has absorbed my tears? Not this man (pointing to PAETUS), for this man only visits me for meals and for bedtime. Meanwhile, he devotes his sunrise to sunset to a dirty mistress. My son would not have ended up like this man; my son would have kept seeing the sunrise with me; my son would love me until death. This man’s life should have been taken, not my son’s. (looks to PAETUS) You have feasted in the tree, Paetus, and you have been bitten by the snake.

(ARRIA returns to hold out the dagger. The spotlight turns on both of them. PAETUS reaches closer to the dagger, and when he touches it, the lights dim.)

CURTAIN FALLS

bottom of page